Who We Are

The Society employs a part-time Administrator, however, SSA Council runs entirely on a voluntary basis. The Council is made up of the President, Vice President, Professional, Ordinary and Honorary members who all give of their time and individual skills and experience to the organisation.

Council members take up the role for 3 years after which they stand down unless co-opted into a Project Sub Group as can often happen. Members attend meetings approximately every 4-6 weeks and orchestrate the initiation of International exchanges, curate satellite exhibitions, generate fundraising activities and of course undertake our Annual Exhibition. We are also involved in additional projects such as our programmes of satellite exhibitions and opportunities for members.

Sharon Quigley

President | Sharon Quigley | SSA Page  | website | email

Sharon Quigley is an award winning visual artist, whose work balances interdisciplinary collaboration with a self-directed studio practice. She has successfully delivered well received exhibitions and public artworks within galleries and non- traditional art spaces, undertaking many artistic residencies, research-driven arts projects and public art commissions. She regularly works co-creatively with a variety of artists, designers, makers, institutions and arts production companies, such as Wide Open, Atlas Arts, Project Ability, Artlink Central and the University of Stirling’s Art Collection.

Sharon studied painting at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art in Dundee before completing an MA in European Fine Art in Barcelona. She has been the recipient of several awards including The Royal Scottish Academy Latimer Award, The Royal Glasgow Institute of Fine Arts Exhibitionship, The Jeffrey Orchar Award for Painting, Edinburgh Printmakers’ Award and a Hope Scott Publication Award and Travel Award. She exhibits her work both nationally and internationally and has work in many collections, such as The Royal Bank of Scotland, Mastercard, Baillie Gifford and The International Centre for Cultural Development in India as well as within many private collections

Vice President | Aleksandra Kargul| SSA Page








Rowena S Comrie |SSA Page
David Faithfull | SSA Page
Kirsty Lorenz | SSA Page
Norman McBeath | SSA Page
Ruth Nicol | SSA Page
Gerry Smith
Jenny Smith | SSA Page

Rick Ballard (co-opted)
Calum Buchanan (co-opted)
Janna Emburey (co-opted) | SSA Page
James Lumsden (co-opted) | SSA Page
Jamie McAteer (co-opted)

Administrator | Lynne Mackenzie email 

After studying Art, then History of Art, and working with organisations including Glasgow Museums, Glasgow Print Studio and the Royal Glasgow Institute, Lynne joined the SSA in 2016.

As well as working with the SSA and the George Wyllie Foundation, Lynne is a freelance visual arts curator, manager and marketer currently collaborating with a number of artists and organisations. She is also Founding Editor of ArtScotland.info – a website dedicated to promoting visual art in Scotland.

Honorary Presidents

Richard Demarco CBE
George Wylie MBE – Born 1921, Died 2012

Honorary Vice-President

Frank Ross The Rt Hon Lord Provost of the City of Edinburgh

Join the Council

SSA Council is always looking to the future and how we can sustain and develop this unique and distinctive artist led institution and needs volunteers who are committed to working hard, being involved and taking on interesting projects and exchanges. Being a part of this inner organisational core is a challenging and busy business but is one that is enormously rewarding.

It is after all artists working for artists to create vibrant and stimulating exhibitions year after year with no external funding or support. It is a wonderful opportunity to meet and work with artists from across many disciplines and to understand the importance of the SSA both historically and creatively but also how we fit into the future of the wider Scottish cultural landscape.