Who We Are

The SSA is run by artists for artists. We have a volunteer Council, led by our two Co-Presidents, and supported by our Vice-President. Our Council is made up of Professional and Artist Members, who each bring their individual experience and skills to the role, and together are responsible for the direction of the Society. Members join the Council for three years, or they may be co-opted for a shorter period to work on a specific project.

We also have an active network of Satellite Associates, who are based throughout Scotland, from Orkney to the Western Isles and down to the Borders. They are responsible for expanding the engagement of the Society in their local area, initiating new projects and partnerships, and ensuring that the SSA is an accessible and engaging organisation for our members based right across the country.

All of our Council Members and Satellite Associates are volunteers. We employ one part- time Administrator, who keeps the Society running smoothly on a day-to-day basis, and is the first point of contact for our members.

Interested in joining our Council or becoming a Satellite Associate? Email us at admin@s-s-a.org


Jamie McAteer


Olivia Turner


Rhona Taylor



Lindsay Howarth

Lindsay manages the membership, coordinates the production of the Annual Exhibition, and oversees the SSA website, while undertaking admin duties for the society.

Prior to joining the SSA Lindsay worked in live events, coordinating and producing festivals. With a keen interest in sustainability and design she also trades in vintage homeware, specialising in ceramics.


Catherine Sargeant

Su Grierson

Lindsey Hamilton

Sarah Kudirka

Gillian McFarland

Lindsey Perth

Jenny Pope

Duncan Robertson

Gillian Spanswick

Christine Wylie

Rick Ballard